130426 Tailor made shocks

Hard work and dumb luck mean that I am a man with four motorcycles.

Pictured here are just two of them. The blue one is a 1960 Velocette and the green one a 1993 Harley Davidson.

2 before DSC08248 (1)

The Velocette has a very low seat relative to my height and is a joy to ride, and most especially a joy to wait on at badly contoured road junctions – it’s easy to get both feet on the ground even when pot-holes and sharp cambers are involved.

The Harley Davidson though still safe and comfortable for me while waiting for the lights to turn red and amber is just a bit too long in the leg for my wife to ride.

Herewith the story of turning an over tall bike into a right for rider bike.

2thejobDSC08256 (1)

To begin at the beginning, many thanks to all who have offered advice and information over the years in the matter of lowering the seat height on a Harley Davidson MT350.

About three years ago I slid the fork yokes down the fork legs a couple of inches or so, at the same time I put some pre-load spacers on top of the springs inside the fork legs.

The result was pleasing but the bike’s seat was still a little too high for my wife to ride it with confidence.

However, it was clearly going to be necessary to fit shorter shock absorbers at the rear to achieve the desired effect.

After due consideration I took advice from “freddy54” over on the MT Riders’ Club Forum.

“freddy54” sent me the following spec which he had used himself to good effect and I e-mailed NJB Shocks for a quote –

Dear Norman


I now need to lower the seat height on my MT350 for my wife and I to ride but solo only.
I still weigh 15 stone in my socks.

I am told the new shocks I need should be –

390 mm long, 12×20 bonded bush, all black with 1220 bushes (20mm long
bushes, not the standard 25mm).

Does this specification make sense and if so can you do these and at what sort of price?

 ###########################################################################################

The reasonably priced shock absorbers arrived.

3new and old DSC08260 (1)

3old and newDSC08269 (1)

It took longer to photograph the job than to do it, and we are both very pleased with the result.

5DSC08274 (1)

5DSC08279 (1)

In due course I’ll let you know how I get on at cresting the berm with the shorter shocks on.

One thought on “130426 Tailor made shocks

  1. Pingback: 130428 Go compare | The Bridge Club Too

Leave a Reply

